Program Updates

 
Take-Back Required for ALL New Mattress Deliveries in California as of Jan. 1, 2021
Starting Jan. 1, 2021 any retailer that delivers a new mattress to a California consumer must offer to pick up the consumer's discarded mattress at no additional charge regardless of sales format or delivery method. California AB 187 expands the existing pick up requirement to include deliveries made by common carrier that were previously exempt.

Recognizing that pick up is a new requirement for many online mattress sellers and others that were previously exempt, MRC has developed tools to assist with compliance:

A recording of MRC's webinar, "California Mattress Recycling: What Retailers Need to Know," is now available. The webinar discusses changes to the law, retailer obligations and resources. MRC has also provided answers to frequently asked questions about the law update.

MRC’s Commercial Volume Program offers a solution for retailers that collect at least 100 used mattresses or box springs. Participants receive a permanent trailer and transportation for recycling at no cost. Companies that offer delivery through common carriers can coordinate with waste haulers or other parties to pick up old units from consumers within 30 days and deliver those units to any participating Bye Bye Mattress collection site, recycler or other location statewide. Find the sites nearest to you on the locator at ByeByeMattress.com.

MRC has compiled a list of third-party contractors and transporters that may be able to assist retailers with meeting the new pick up obligations. This list is provided as a service, may not be comprehensive and does not represent endorsement by MRC.

This information and more is available on the retailer take back page of MRC’s website and will be updated regularly as needed. Read more in this article in Furniture Today.

For more information, visit MattressRecyclingCouncil.org, email MRC at info@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or call MRC at 1-855-229-1691.
Connecticut Recycling Fee Will Increase to $11.75 on January 1, 2021
LEGAL NOTICE OF RECYCLING FEE INCREASE

Connecticut Recycling Fee Will Increase on January 1, 2021

In accordance with Connecticut Public Act No. 13-42, the Connecticut mattress recycling fee will increase from $9 to $11.75 per unit for all mattresses and foundations sold in Connecticut on and after January 1, 2021. The fee is a flat per unit rate that applies to all sizes of mattresses and foundations. The fee is subject to sales tax. Please update your records accordingly.

All entities that sell mattresses to end users, including (but not limited to) brick-and-mortar retailers, online sellers and companies that sell mattresses to commercial volume end users like hotels, hospitality facilities, boarding schools, colleges and universities, nursing homes, medical facilities, etc. are required to collect the per unit fee.

The recycling fee MUST appear as a separate line item on all receipts for a mattress or foundation, followed by the fee amount, whether sold in-store or online as required by state law. The full fee amount must be remitted to the Mattress Recycling Council (MRC) through MRCReporting.org.

Sales reported for the month beginning Jan. 1, 2021 will automatically show the fee remittance amount due as $11.75 x number of units sold. This change represents the first increase in the mattress recycling fee since the program began and is necessitated by increased labor costs and operational expenses.

MRC is a nonprofit organization that operates recycling programs known as Bye Bye Mattress in states that have passed mattress recycling laws. Since 2015, MRC has collected more than 775,000 mattresses statewide in Connecticut for recycling, diverting over 13,000 tons of valuable material from the waste stream.

Updated customer educational materials about the recycling fee will be sent to all registered retail locations in December. Additional resources can be found online at MattressRecyclingCouncil.org.

Questions? Please visit our Frequently Asked Questions at MRCreporting.org/Pages/FAQ.aspx, email info@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or call our customer service department at 855-229-1691.
Retailers: Update Your Registration to Show Sales Method
MRC has updated its registration portal (MRCreporting.org) so that retailers can indicate if they sell brick and mortar, online only or both. Please update your registration to include this information.

How to Update Your Registration to Indicate Sales Method:

1. Log in to MRCreporting.org

2. Click on “My Account”

3. Click on “My States”

4. Click the green box that says “Edit Sales Methods”

5. Check the box(es) indicating which methods of sales your company uses for the states where you sell mattresses or box springs

6. If your business operates/sells online and the online entity operates under a different name than the brick-and-mortar store(s), please enter the name in the box for “online entity name”

7. Click the green box at the bottom that says “Update Account”

As a reminder, all retailers must show the recycling fee as a separate line item on purchase receipts whether in-store or online as required by state law.

If you have questions about your legal obligations, you can view legal obligations for retailers by state on our website. We also provide answers to common questions in our FAQs. For further assistance, email support@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or call 1-888-646-6815.
A Message to Our Community Regarding COVID-19
MRC’s concern for the health and well-being of our employees and those across our recycling network continues to be our top priority as we respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. With that in mind, we have activated plans to continue operations and limit service disruptions while also keeping health best practices in mind.

Our staff continues to be available to serve you. For help with registration, reporting and fee remittance, contact us by clicking here or by calling 1-888-646-6815. If you have other questions, please contact us at info@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or by calling 1-855-229-1691.

We continue to closely monitor and assess this fast-changing situation. Please be sure you subscribe to our MRC Highlights newsletter and follow us on social media for the latest news and announcements.

Futons Added to MRC Program In California as of Jan 1, 2020
Effective January 1, 2020 futons have been added to MRC’s program in California. The $10.50 per unit fee and recycling obligations apply only to the futon mattress. They do not apply to the futon frame or base.

ACTION NEEDED:

• Manufacturers of futons that are registered with MRC must update their company profiles at MRCreporting.org if they manufacture or sell futons to any California end users. (Log in to MRCReporting.org, Click on “My Account.” Click on “My States.” Click on the green box that says “Edit Brand Names and/or URNs.” Under Producer, add your futon brand names and URNs in the box for the state of California. Click the box at the bottom that confirms the information is correct. Click the green box that says “Save URNs.” In the new window, click “Yes-continue” to complete your registration update).

• Manufacturers of futons that are not registered with MRC but that manufacture or sell futons to California end users must register their business, brands and URNs at MRCreporting.org. (Go to MRCreporting.org and click on “Create Account” and follow the steps.)

• Retailers that are not registered with MRC but sell futons to California end users must register at MRCreporting.org. (Go to MRCreporting.org and click on “Create Account” and follow the steps.)

• Retailers must collect a recycling fee of $10.50 on each futon sold on or after January 1, 2020 to any end user in California. Retailers must report and remit the collected fees to MRC monthly. (Login to MRCreporting.org, click on “Reporting” and then “Reports.” Reports are due 30 days following the end of the reporting period. To begin the process of completing a report, select a state and select the checkbox for the report(s) you wish to file and click on "NEXT.” Follow the steps to enter, save and continue through the reporting process.)

• Futons will be accepted at MRC recyclers as part of the California program beginning January 1, 2020.

For questions regarding registration, email support@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or call 1-888-646-6815.
Notice of Legal Changes to California Program
On October 10, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom signed into law AB 187 that amends California’s Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act (SB 254). The amendments include the following important changes to the legal obligations of mattress manufacturers, distributors and retailers:

Effective January 1, 2020

Futons have been added to California’s definition of “mattress.” For these purposes, a futon must meet the general definition of a mattress, which the law defines as “a resilient material or combination of materials that is enclosed by a ticking, is used alone or in combination with other products, and is intended for or promoted for sleeping upon.” The fee and recycling obligations apply only to the futon mattress. They do not apply to the futon frame or base. These changes only affect Mattress Recycling Council (MRC) program participants in California. Futons are not included in MRC’s Connecticut or Rhode Island programs.

This change means that:

• Manufacturers of futons that are registered with MRC must update their company profiles at MRCreporting.org if they manufacture or sell futons to any California end users.

• Manufacturers of futons that are not registered with MRC but that manufacture or sell futons to California end users must register their brands and URNs at MRCreporting.org.

• Retailers that are not registered with MRC but sell futons to California end users must register at MRCreporting.org.

• Retailers must collect a recycling fee of $10.50 on each futon sold on or after January 1, 2020 to any end user in California. Retailers must report and remit the collected fees to MRC monthly.

• Futons will be accepted at MRC recyclers as part of the California program beginning January 1, 2020.

Effective March 1, 2020

Parties that distribute mattresses to retailers or other sellers that will ultimately be sold to California end users on or after March 1, 2020 must register with MRCreporting.org as a “distributor” or update their existing profile to include this information.

Effective January 1, 2021

Under SB 254, a California retailer that delivers a new mattress to a consumer must offer to pick up a used mattress at the time of delivery at no additional cost to the consumer. This requirement does not apply if (a) the used mattress to be picked up is contaminated and poses a risk to personnel, new products, or equipment; or (b) the new mattress was purchased online and delivered by common carrier.

AB 187 eliminates the exception for mattresses delivered by common carrier. This means that a party that sells mattresses to end users in California on or after January 1, 2021 and delivers them by common carrier must offer to pick up a used mattress for recycling from that consumer at no additional charge within 30 days of the delivery of the new mattress (unless the used mattress is contaminated and poses a risk to personnel, new products, or equipment).

To register or update your registration, visit MRCreporting.org. For more information, contact MRC at info@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or 1-855-229-1691.

Need help?
For more information about the Mattress Recycling Council, please visit www.MattressRecyclingCouncil.org.
For help with registration, reporting and fee remittance, contact us by clicking here or by calling: 1-888-646-6815.
If you have other questions, please contact us at info@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org or by calling: 1-855-229-1691.
For translation services, please call 1-888-646-6815.